If you are a member of Healthcare-NOW (you have made a donation of any amount in the past 12 months), you are welcome to vote on Healthcare-NOW's proposed Board slate for 2021-2022! The Board of Directors is Healthcare-NOW's governing body: it determines the organization's mission, structure, strategic plan, and messaging. It also oversees the budget, personnel, and work plan for staff.

This proposed slate of 18 returning and 8 new Board members reflects the rapid growth of the Medicare for All movement over the past three years, bringing in new representatives from the Center for Popular Democracy, Democratic Socialists of America, and People's Action, as well as our allied groups in the key battleground states of Texas and California.

Many of our supporters wonder why you are presented with a slate of candidates to vote on, instead of being able to vote on individual candidates. The reason is that Healthcare-NOW is committed to pro-actively addressing the marginalization of people of color, women, younger people, and activists in the South from leadership roles in our movement. Healthcare-NOW members are asked every two years to nominate individuals for Board membership, and Healthcare-NOW's Board Development Committee then develops a slate from those recommendations that is reflective of our movement, connects us to our most important allied organizations, and includes people with the skill-sets needed to guide the organization moving forward. Members then vote the slate up or down, and can leave anonymous comments for the Board Development Committee.

Scroll down to cast your vote, and leave a comment if you have feedback!

Proposed New Board Members (8)

  • Jenni Chang, Healthy California Now: Healthy California Now is a statewide coalition of organizations and activists dedicated to establishing a single-payer, Medicare For All system in California.
  • Barbara DePietro, National Health Care for the Homeless Council: Grounded in human rights and social justice, the NHCHC mission is to build an equitable, high-quality health care system through training, research, and advocacy in the movement to end homelessness.
  • Frances Gill, Democratic Socialists of America: The Democratic Socialists of America (DSA) is the largest socialist organization in the United States. We believe that working people should run both the economy and society democratically to meet human needs, not to make profits for a few.
  • Connie Huynh, People's Action: We are a national network of state & local grassroots power-building organizations united in fighting for justice.
  • Vinay Krishnan, Center for Popular Democracy: The Center for Popular Democracy works to create equity, opportunity and a dynamic democracy in partnership with high-impact base-building organizations, organizing alliances, and progressive unions.
  • Maribel Nunez, Inland Equity Partnership: Inland Equity Partnership is a racial and economic justice coalition working together to build civic power among low income, marginalized communities and communities of color in Riverside and San Bernardino Counties.
  • Sofia Sepulveda, Texas Organizing Project: The Texas Organizing Project (TOP), founded in 2009, organizes Black and Latino communities in Dallas, Harris and Bexar counties with the goal of transforming Texas into a state where working people of color have the power and representation they deserve.
  • Amy Vilela, Las Vegas activist: following the death of her daughter Shalynne after being turned away from a hospital ER, Amy has been a leading national voice for Medicare for All, founding Healthcare-NOW Nevada, and having her run for Congress featured in the Netflix documentary "Knock Down the House."

Proposed Returning Board Members (18)

  • Katherine Asuncion, Mass-Care & Grassroots International
  • Don Bechler, Single Payer Now
  • Laura Dominguez, RN, National Nurses Organizing Committee in Texas
  • Mark Dudzic, Labor Campaign for Single Payer
  • Oliver Fein, MD, Physicians for a National Health Program
  • Gerald Friedman, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
  • Lindy Hern, University of Hawaii at Hilo
  • Geri Katz, Minnesota Nurses Association
  • Judith Lerma, RN, National Nurses Organizing Committee
  • Holly Miller, National Nurses United
  • Lisa Patrick-Mudd, Single Payer Now
  • Mark Piotrowski, Tallahassee activist
  • Katie Robbins, Campaign for New York Health
  • Ibrahima Sankare, UCLA Medical Center
  • Bob Sisler, Retirees for Single Payer Health Care
  • Donna Smith, Progressive Democrats of America
  • Walter Tsou, Health Care for All Philadelphia
  • Rita Valenti, Healthcare-NOW! Georgia
  • Cindy Young, J. Glynn & Company

Cast Your Vote

[caldera_form id="CF5f85d50878494"]