Healthcare-NOW! Board Members

Steering Committee

Don Bechler, Single Payer Now, San Francisco, CA

Mark Dudzic, Labor Campaign for Single-Payer, Washington, D.C.

Sandy Fox, Western PA Coalition for Single-Payer Healthcare, Pittsburgh, PA
Margie Rece, Healthcare-NOW! Activist, Atlanta, GA

Ray Stever, New Jersey One Plan One Nation

Kay Tillow, Unions for Single Payer

Laurie Wen, Executive Director, Physicians for a National Health Program – NY Metro Chapter


Rev. Cynthia Abrams, United Methodist Women

Nurah Ammat’ Ullah, Muslim Women’s Institute for Research and Development
Vanessa Beck, Healthcare-NOW!

Medea Benjamin, Code Pink, San Francisco, CA
Rose Ann DeMoro, Executive Director, California Nurses Association

Dr. Olveen Carrasquillo, Associate Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the University of Miami’s Miller School of Medicine
Rebecca Elgie, Co-Director Single Payer New York

Dr. Oliver Fein, Past President, Physicians for a National Health Program, NY

Dr. Margaret Flowers, Congressional Fellow, Physicians for a National Health Program

Leo Gerard, International President, United Steel Workers

Dr. Ida Hellander, Director of Policy and Programs, Physicians for a National Health Program

Lindy Hern, Missourians for Single Payer

Dr. David Himmelstein, Co-Founder, Physicians for a National Health Program

John Horgan, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Boston, MA
Michael Lighty, Director of Public Policy, California Nurses Association
John Lozier, Executive Director, National Health Care for the Homeless Council, Nashville, TN
Terry O’Neill, President, National Organization for Women
Lisa Patrick-Mudd, Single Payer Now
Mark Piotrowski, Alachua County Labor Party
Mikuak Rai, DC Coalition of Uninsured and Underinsured for Single Payer

Art Richter, Single Payer NY, Citizens for Universal Healthcare

Katie Robbins, Healthcare-NOW! NYC
Cecil Roberts, President, United Mineworkers of America, Washington, DC

Randy Sandusky, UAW Local 22

Ethel Long Scott, Executive Director, Women’s Economic Agenda Project, Oakland, CA
Donna Smith, Health Care for All Colorado

Liz Theoharis, The Employment Project, New York, NY

Chris Townsend, Political Action Director, United Electrical, Radio, and Machine Workers of America
Dr. Walter Tsou, Physicians for a National Health Program

Rita Valenti, Healthcare-NOW! Georgia and Georgians for a Common Sense Health Plan

Jim Winkler, General Secretary, General Board of Church and Society United Methodist Church
Vashti Winterburg, Co-chair, Kansas Health Care for All

Cindy Young, National Nurses United
Dr. Quentin Young, National Coordinator, Physicians for a National Health Program